Skip to content ↓

Guest of Honour - Olympian - Jo Jackson

On Thursday 26th January 2017, The Harefield Academy opened its doors and welcomed our outstanding students to whom we bestowed the honour of receiving one of our coveted awards during our annual Presentation Evening.

In 2017 we have a huge amount to celebrate and be proud of as Principal, Tash Moriarty, articulated so well. Our award winners are true ambassadors for The Academy and their success can only be attributed to their hard work, diligence and a single minded determination to succeed. Throughout the evening 21 Sponsor Awards were presented each accompanied by a highly personal citation detailing the reason behind the nomination for the Award. The personal journeys and triumphs, sometimes over great adversity were simply awe inspiring. Each one of the 21 Awards is sponsored by individuals or companies who recognise the innate brilliance of our younger generation and are keen to be a part of their individual journey. Their support through their attendance on the evening is yet another example of why The Harefield Academy Community is so special.

In addition to the Sponsor Awards we bestowed 19 Subject Awards for Excellence and honoured our highest GCSE achievers from the 2016 Exam Season. It was wonderful to see past and present students enjoying the recognition for their stunning achievements.

Our Guest of Honour this year was Olympic Bronze Medallist Joanne Jackson who closed the evening by speaking passionately about her journey to success. It was clear from her experiences that without her dogged determination to fulfil her dreams of reaching the Olympics, and her pursuit to prove everyone wrong who did not share this belief, she would never have achieved her phenomenal goals. Joanne articulated what so many of our students have proved, that if you think you can, you can.

The night was concluded by our Head Boy and Head Girl, both worthy recipients of Sponsor Awards. Having thanked everyone in attendance and especially our Guest of Honour, they made the astute observation that that despite the negative headlines; young people can be a power for good. There were many stories told throughout the night where students have shown courage, dedication and selflessness. The students that we recognised, are really only just a snapshot of the good work that students from The Harefield Academy have achieved this year.

Year 11 student Molly Baldwin wowed the crowd with her beautiful version of Adele's 'All I Ask' and to round off a perfect evening the audience were treated to a performance by the Harefield Gymnastics who wowed us all with their mesmerising Acrobatic Gymnastic routine. The complexity and sheer skill of the students left the audience speechless.

With that the audience were invited into the Café for a drinks reception where our Student Leadership Team served food produced by our Hospitality and Catering students. It was every bit a student centred event celebrating the vast and varied talents of our young people. 

All in all it was a terrific night that demonstrated all that is truly wonderful about The Harefield Academy – our Students and our Community. We hope to see more of you represented in 2018.

Guest of Honour, Jo Jackson who has had an illustrious swimming career, having completed at three Olympic Games: Athens 2004, Beijing 2008 and London 2012, and specialised in the 200m, 400m and 800m Freestyle. At Athens, Jo was only 17 years old and from this point on she quickly established herself as a major force in international swimming. Since retiring from the sport due to injury in 2012 Jo has gone on to set up her own         Swim Academy and work with young people as an athlete mentor. As mentoned above, Jo gave an exceptionally inspiring talk to our audience following the presentations and said after the event: "What a fantastic night I had at the Presentation Evening, it was amazing to see so many talented and dedicated students. All the award winners should be really proud of all their achievements. Remember to keep following your dreams and to never give up. "

Lead Sponsors' Awards:

The David Meller Award for Effort and Determination - Carl Jolly

The Jonathan Green Award for Overall Achievement - Ryan Godden

The Michael Sherwood Award for Moral and Ethical Behaviour - Harrison Gookey

The Haig Oundjian Award for Olympian Qualities - Zahna Hall

Sponsors' Awards:

The SLS Award for Sporting Achievement - Marcus Loh

The Cucina Award for Effective Use of Tutor Time - Amy Doherty

The Rob Holland Award for Preparation for the World of Work - Jarrod Criscuolo

The Merchant Taylors’ School Award for A-level Studies - Karima Althea Ranieri

The Magdi Yacoub Institute Award for Commitment to Science - Grace Cowdry

The Humanutopia Award for Hero Qualities - Kaylee Freeman

The Harefield History Society Award for Keeping History Alive - Amber Harvey

The Pullens Award for Leaving a Legacy - Daniel Tang

The Gregory Deer Award for Exceptional Mathematical Ability - Roan Cooper

The Clancy Group Award for Boarder of the Year - Jaellan Greaves

The Bouygues Award for Innovation in STEM Projects - Holly Cowdry

The Speedo Award for Outstanding Enthusiasm - Mitchell Adams

The Grove Hotel Award for Achievement in Hospitality and Catering - Elizabeth Vila Creus

The Brunel University Award for University Potential - Orla Reilly

The Watford Football Club Award for Contribution to Football - Joe Rnger

The Wendy Rice Morley Award for Outstanding Ambassador to The Academy - Daniella Alessi

The Principal’s Award for Services to The Academy and the Community - Emily Hook

Highest Achievers Awards:

High Achievers – Current

Georgia Baker

Mark Gibson

Sushma Roberts

Eliz Maloney

Lucy Wood

Jessica Walsh


High Achievers –Leavers


Shalom Ajala

Olivia Brennand

Edward Cook

Kai Gordon

Riya Kaur

Ryan Kirwan

Eve Middleton

Miriam Mumbua

Emily Oakley

Subject Awards





Amy Chaplin


Btech Sport

Matteo Intigla



Roshan Unnikrishan



Mialara Coleman



Tamsin Horwood



Bobby Hughes



Gemma Harding



Jessica Keys


Food Tech

Tamara Tomasevic



David Jones



Harry Ellis



Chanel Hogan



Lucy Stevens



Lily Pearson



Charli O’Connor



Ben Mills



Chene Hogan



Riya Kappor



Taylor Hunt


Jack Petchey Achievement Award

James Gurteen in Year 13