Skip to content ↓

Houses at The Harefield Academy

All students at The Harefield Academy are allocated to one of six Houses.  Students represent their Houses in a wide range of activities and events throughout the year.   Each House is named after a famous sports personality.

Coe House  

Lord Sebastian Coe was Chairman of the London 2012 Olympic Bid company. He is a double Olympic Champion and 12-time world record holder in athletics.

Grey-Thompson House

One of Britain’s greatest ever Paralympians, Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, is winner of 11 Paralympic gold medals and six London Wheelchair Marathons.

Lewis House

Olympian Denise Lewis OBE is best known for winning gold in Heptathlon.  Her medal haul includes a Commonwealth bronze and two golds, two silvers from the World Championships and a gold in the European Championships.

Navratilova House

Martina Navratilova is the most outstanding tennis player ever.  Her tennis accolades include 59 Gland Slam titles which include a record 9 Wimbledon singles championships. This totals an impressive 344 tournament victories across four decades.

Pelé House

The legendary Brazilian football player Pelé, is the only player to be part of three World Cup-winning squads.  He is known throughout the world for his accomplishments and contributions to the game of football.

Redgrave House

Former British rower, Sir Steve Redgrave, won gold medals at five consecutive Olympic Games 1984 to 2000 as well as a bronze medal at the 1988 Summer Games, totaling 6 Olympic Medals.  Redgrave is the most successful male rower in Olympic history.

Each House is managed by a Student Manager and overseen by a member of the SLT. The Student Managers are as follows and contact information can be found here.

Coe House - Trudy White

Grey-Thompson House - Y9 with Cecelia Bolger, Y10 with Nicky Sweeney, Y11 with Ria Booker

Lewis House - Ria Booker and GT11

Navratilova House - Karen Raper

Pelé House - Nicky Sweeney and GT10

Redgrave House - Cecelia Bolger and GT9

Please note that from May half-term Student Managers will manage Year Groups as follows:

  • Year 7 will be managed by Mrs Sweeney
  • Year 8 will be managed by Mrs Bolger
  • Year 9 will be managed by Mrs White
  • Year 10 will be managed by Mrs Raper

Student Manager Year Group Responsibilities from September 2017 will be:

  • Year 7 – Ms Booker
  • Year 8 – Mrs Sweeney
  • Year 9 – Mrs Bolger
  • Year 10 – Mrs White
  • Year 11 – Mrs Raper